top of page
  • Writer's pictureI am a Club Sandwich

How to be a mother

Jake turns 40




I became a mother at 7am on March 25th, 1984. Leading up to the big day, I felt too young and too naive to be a mother, at 24 years old I was scared shitless. But motherhood threw me into adulthood whether I was ready or not.  And so it began..my body was no longer my own, just a vessel for a tiny being, my brain decided to go on hiatus for a while and my 24 year old energy decreased 10 fold, but there I was….totally and madly in love! Jake was Jake from the minute he was born. He was; curious, kind, strong and beautiful (inside and out).  Becoming a mother so young was surprisingly natural. Jake and I grew up together. We figured out that mother’s don’t always know everything, in fact know very little, especially when it comes to raising kids. We don’t remember things, we make lot of mistakes, but we can always learn. Jake and I loved learning together; we learned how to play, draw, read, and learned napping time was essential. Everyday was a new adventure. I was in awe of this incredible human growing in front of me. Jake listened and soaked up every note of every song we played for him (on our boom box :), he listened with his full attention as we read him Never Ending Story or Harry Potter.  He ran, jumped, and climbed like a little monkey when he played with his friends. With all he took in, little did we know he was preparing to become a brilliant musician, teacher, athlete, husband and loving father. Life has come full circle. Jake at 40 is now the one growing with his beautiful boys, reading, climbing, playing and learning together.  I am the proudest mother I could possibly be. Having Jake at the right moment in my life was the exact thing that was meant to happen. Yes, he is 40 now, a grown man but still learning and growing. He shows me there is always something more to learn. He has taught me to love music deeply, walk barefoot, scramble rocks, bake bread, and what to look for in a good move. Jake is my teacher but now he has his 2 brilliant boys, Asher and Desi to teach him. Thank you my beautiful son for being the guiding light through my life. And now it’s your turn to let your children guide you. I hope you enjoy this incredible ride.

I love you to the moon and back. Mom

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page