top of page
  • Writer's pictureI am a Club Sandwich

How to be a grandmother

Updated: Jan 30, 2018

First bit of cake.

Asher turned 1 last weekend; he was born on inauguration day. He was the ray of hope on that day. Except for his baby world, he was oblivious to all the craziness that was happening. Thank goodness for Asher. Everything bad in the world disappears when I look at his beautiful baby face. One look at Asher and all the horrible pictures I see in the news: the mass shootings, the lying politicians, and the environmental catastrophes temporarily evaporates. This baby is the opposite of all that is bad in the world. He is pure love.


Asher and I reading our favorite book together.


Someone recently asked me what it is like to be a grandparent? I told him that seeing my son with his son is extraordinary. I am of course proud of him, but proud in a different way then when he was a boy. I am proud that my son has grown up to be a man who's whole heart is bursting with love for his son. I see it in the way he talks to him and comforts him and shows him how to manage the world.


I have glimpses of my son in Asher when he was a baby. Like his dad, he has a sweet disposition and is quiet and contemplative. He sits back and takes it all in before attempting the next task. He makes scrunchy playful faces with his tongue sticking out just like his dad. I forget how amazing it is to see the first time he smiles, the first time he rolled over, the first time he sits up by himself, the first time he belly laughs, or crawls, or stands, and on and on. Watching his little body and brain work hard to accomplish the next great feat makes my heart sing. I am an annoying grandparent calling and texting all the time to see new pictures and hear his sweet voice. I don’t want to miss anything. I tell them babies are only babies for an instant, then they drive away with their wives to California, Nashville or Connecticut. So I will be annoying. My husband and I thank Asher's parents everyday for bringing him into this crazy world.


Our new baby boy!



This past Thanksgiving my youngest son and his wife announced that they are expecting their first baby this Summer. Oh boy, oh boy it's a boy!! We love our boys. I believe I've raised my sons to be kind and empathetic men and know they will raise their sons to be good and kind men too. The sandwich continues to layer and I am loving it, yum yum.

54 views0 comments
bottom of page